Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join PaLA!
PaLA Board of Directors, Council & Staff

Board And Council Member Info - Request Access if Needed

Board Members • Chapters Divisions 

Round Tables  Committees  Staff  

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors formulates policies subject to the approval of the membership and executes these policies acting always as representatives of the membership. The Board establishes immediate and long-range objectives, controls the funds of the organization, appoints the Executive Director, grants Chapter, Division and Roundtable recognition as well as the establishment of standing committees, and approves publications.

Board Positions

  • For a one-year term: President, Immediate Past President, First Vice-President (President-Elect)
  • For a two-year term: Two (2) Second Vice-Presidents (Conference Chairs), Secretary/Treasurer
  • For a 3 year-term: Third Vice-President (Membership Chair), seven (7) At-Large Members of the Board
  • ALA Councilor (term subject to the bylaws of ALA)
  • PaLA Executive Director (Appointed Officer, non-voting member)

The board meets no fewer than five times annually.

The 2019 Board Members are:

President: Denise Sticha
1st Vice President, Legislative Chair: Michele Legate
2nd Vice President, 2019 Erie Conference: Paula Collins
2nd Vice President, 2020 Kalahari Conference: Sylvia Orner
3rd Vice President, Membership Chair: Sheli Pratt-McHugh
Treasurer: Leslie Christianson
ALA Councilor: Rob Lesher
Immediate Past President: Tina Hertel
Director-at-Large: Kelli Knapp
Director-at-Large: Dana Farabaugh
Director-at-Large: Jennifer Knisely
Director-at-Large: Ed Wolf
Director-at-Large: Brady Clemens
Director-at-Large: Kate Cummings
Director-at-Large: Joann Eichenlaub
Executive Director: Christi Buker

If you are a member, you can sign-in and then perform a member search by going under the Members Only tab and selecting Member Search. This will give you any contact information you need. 


The Council consists of the Board of Directors and the elected chairpersons of Chapters, Divisions, Roundtables and Committees. The major function of the Council is to identify issues of concern of the membership, which are presented to the board.

The council meets no less than one time annually.

The 2019 Council Members are:


Juniata Conemagh: Lisa Erickson
Lehigh Valley: Catherine Stewart
Northeast: Allison Latagliata
Northwest: Brenda Beikert
South Central: Wendy McClure
Southeast (SEPLA): Dana Barber
Southwest: Diana Falk
West Branch: Tracy Powell


College & Research (CRD): Maggie Albro
Public Library (PLD): Stephen Sarazin
Youth Services (YSD): Karl Rebon

Round Tables:

Digital Resources: Brian Fulton
Teaching, Learning & Technology (TL&T): Adam Haigh
Rural & Small Libraries: Cindy DeLuca
Technical Services: Paige Andrew

Committee Chairs:

Archives & History Committee: Karen Jury

Awards Committee: Carrie Sturgill

Bulletin Committee: Stephanie Campbell

Conference Evaluation Committee: Elizabeth Davis

Ex Libris Society: Jack Sulzer

Finance Committee: Denise Sticha

Intellectual Freedom Committee: Sukrit Goswami

Leadership Development--PALS: Jessica Miller

Legislative Information Committee: Kimberley Hrivnak & Michele Legate

Organization & Bylaws Committee: Barbara McGary

PA Forward Steering Committee: Paula Gilbert

Public Relations/Marketing Committee: Amy Krize Suveg & Regina Fried

Scholarship Committee: Katie Martin

Website Committee: Melissa Rowse

If you are a member, you can sign-in and then perform a member search by going under the Members Only tab and selecting Member Search. This will provide contact information.


The Board of Directors is charged with appointing the Executive Director of the association and selecting the location of the association headquarters. Through the Board's confirmation of the budget, additional employees on regular payroll or by contract, are hired by the Executive Director. Currently, staff positions include:

  • Executive Director
  • Meetings & Finance Manager
  • PA Forward Project Manager
  • Administrative Assistant

Contact a PaLA Staff Member

Orientation Materials

These documents will be helpful to the current leadership of the organization.


Return to top

Contact Us

220 Cumberland Parkway, Suite 10
Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
717-766-7663 Phone
717-766-5440 Fax
800-622-3308 (PA Only)